NHLDC boosts Nevis preparations for Leeward Islands debating competition

The Nevis Housing and Land Development Corporation (NHLDC) has made a timely contribution to Nevis’ preparations for the Leeward Islands debating competition set to take place here from February 24 to 28.

Through its chairman Hon. Robelto Hector, who is also minister responsible for housing and lands, the corporation on Wednesday presented a cheque for $5,000 to the Nevis Literary and Debating Society. Collecting the cheque at the Nevis Island Administration’s conference room was president of the Society, Earline Pemberton.

While promising the presentation will be an annual affair Minister Hector said it is the corporation’s and ministry’s way of giving back to the community, and of ensuring the students themselves are in a position to make a contribution to the society. He encouraged the students to continue debating since there are advantages to be gained from the exercise. The Minister pointed to self-confidence, knowledge and the fact that their peers will look up to them as some of the advantages.

“It is a lesson that will help you throughout your life.”

Minister Hector thanked the society for consenting to participate in the NHLDC’s 25th anniversary celebrations debate last November, and said the competition was one of the ways the corporation hoped to promote awareness of its work. The Minister also wished the Society success in the upcoming competition.

President Pemberton thanked the Minister for the cheque and for giving the Society the opportunity to practice their debating skills. She invited other corporate sponsors to come on board in the lead-up to the February 24-28 competition, promising to “make them proud.”

Also present was General Manage of NHLDC Eustace Nisbett who presented the trophy to the winners of the debate sponsored by the corporation in November 2009. The winners were Kris Liburd and Althea Campbell. The members of the losing team in that debate, Joanne Flemming and Shanroy Caesar, were also in attendance along with other representatives of the Society – including teachers of the Charlestown Secondary School and Sixth Form College.